February 22, 2010 Jill

awards-logo.jpgToday, the Writers Guild of Canada announced the finalists for the 2010 WGC Screenwriting Awards.  I thrilled and excited to see so many friends nominated.  Good luck to all.

Grossology “New Recruits.”  Written by Richard Clark
Total Drama Action “Crouching Courtney, Hidden Owen.”  Written by Alex Ganetakos
League of Super Evil “Glory Hog.” Written by Philippe Ivanusic-Vallee and Davila LeBlanc
Total Drama Action “The Sand Witch Project.” Written by Shelley Scarrow

Preschool and Childrens
Max and Ruby “Max Says Goodbye.” Written by Kate Barris
Max and Ruby “Ruby’s Good Neighbor Report.” Written by Shelley Hoffman & Robert Pincombe
Zigby “Zigby’s Collection.” Written by Louise Moon

Malls R Us (Feature Version). Written by Helene Klodawsky
The Royal Winnipeg Ballet – 40 Years of One Night Stands. Narration Written by Robert Lower
A Time There Was: Stories from the Last Days of Kenya Colony. Narration Written by Donald McWilliams

Episodic half-hour
Less Than Kind “The Daters.” Written by Garry Campbell
Less Than Kind “Fun.” Written by Jenn Engels
Less Than Kind “Happy Birthday Sheldon.”  Written by Marvin Kaye & Chris Sheasgreen
Less Than Kind “Careers Day.” Written by Mark McKinney
Corner Gas “Shirt Disturber.” Written by Kevin White & Norm Hiscock

MOW & Mini-Series
The Summit.  Written by John Krizanc
Paradise City: Degrassi Goes Hollywood. Story by Vera Santamaria, Matt Huether, Sara Snow / Teleplay by Vera Santamaria, Matt Huether, Sarah Glinski, Sara Snow
Guns (part 1 and 2). Written by Sudz Sutherland & Jennifer Holness

Feature Film
High Life. Written by Lee MacDougall
A Shine of Rainbows. Written by Vic Sarin & Catherine Spear and Dennis Foon
The Trotsky. Written by Jacob Tierney
Love and Savagery. Written by Des Walsh
Crackie. Written by Sherry White

Episodic one hour
Stargate Universe “Time.”  Written by Robert C. Cooper
Flashpoint  “One Wrong Move.”  Written by Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern & James Hurst
ZOS: Zone of Separation “Bred in the Bone.”  Written by John Krizanc
Cra$h & Burn “Trust.” Written by Jackie May
Murdoch Mysteries “Mild Mild West.” Written by Derek Schreyer
ZOS: Zone of Separation “Shallow Graves.”  Written by Jason Sherman

Radio Drama
Afghanada “Episode 65.”  Written by Alex Levine
Afghanada “Episode 61.” Written by Barbara Samuels

Short Subject
Being Erica I “Webisodes.” Written by Jessie Gabe
My Pal Satan “Cheaters Never Perspire.”  Written by Dennis Heaton
How People Got Fire. Written by Daniel Janke

This Hour Has 22 Minutes XVII “Episode 6.” Head Writer: Ed Macdonald / Written by Mark Critch, Gavin Crawford, Kyle Tingley, Albert Howell, Dean Jenkinson, Joanne O’Sullivan, Tara Doyle, Erik Van Wyck, Mike Allison, Joey Case
This Hour Has 22 Minutes XVII “Episode 8.”  Head Writer: Ed Macdonald / Written by Mark Critch, Kyle Tingley, Albert Howell, Shaun Majumder, Dean Jenkinson, Geri Hall, Joanne O’Sullivan, Tara Doyle, Erik Van Wyck, Mike Allison, Stephen Patterson
The Ron James Show “Episode 7.”  Written by Ron James, Garry Campbell, Brian Hartt, Mark De Angelis, Chris Finn, David MacKenzie, Paul Pogue, Gary Pearson, Jennifer Whalen
Rick Mercer Report VI “Episode 17.”  Written by Rick Mercer, Irwin Barker, Greg Eckler, Chris Finn, Paul Mather, Tim Steeves

How to Be Indie “How to Be a Mehta.” Written by Anita Kapila
The Latest Buzz “The Wonderful World of Buzz Issue.” Written by Brent Piaskoski
Family Biz  “Breakaway.” Written by Sheila Prescott
The Latest Buzz  “The Comeback Issue.” Written by Darrin Rose
How to Be Indie “How to Strike a Balance.” Written by Vera Santamaria

The 14th annual WGC Screenwriting Awards will be held on April 19th, 2010.

Comments (3)

  1. P.S.

    Where’s Tony Burgess’ PONTYPOOL in the nominations?

    If anything, it should be recognized for accomplishing it’s contained thriller element – not to mention American appeal 😉

  2. admin

    Tom Burgess who wrote PontyPool isn’t a WGC member which makes him sadly ineligible for a WGC award.

Comments are closed.